Kids Channel
Related Channels

Newborn Development Information

One of the most exciting parts of being a parent is watching your baby go through different stages of development and learning. For example, although most babies can learn their native language in under two years, each child must go through several stages of language development before becoming fluent. There are five stages of language development. They typically occur in the following order (although some overlap can definitely occur):
  • Crying


  • Babble play


  • Canonical or repetitive babbling, such as "ma-ma-ma"


  • Variegated babbling, which is when your baby seems to be saying a whole sentence -- but without saying any real words, and often incorporating inflections -- such as "Baba beee-ummm gubba dum-goo-ee?" (ending with a high-pitched voice)


  • Single words.
(For more information on newborn development, click Help Your Baby Talk, Language Development in Children, Newborn Reflexes, and Temperament.)

Newborn Development Information

Referring Pages:
Terms of Use
Advertise with Us
Contact Us
About eMedTV
Privacy Policy
Copyright © 2006-2018 Clinaero, Inc.
eMedTV serves only as an informational resource. This site does not dispense medical advice or advice of any kind. Site users seeking medical advice about their specific situation should consult with their own physician. Click Terms of Use for more information.